Florida PTA State Office

2024-2025



1747 Orlando Central Parkway Orlando, Florida 32809 Phone: 407-855-7604 FAX: 407-240-9577 E-Mail: info@floridapta.org Web Site: www.FloridaPTA.org

Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 - Section 7 - State Office Page 1 of 7 - www.FloridaPTA.org

Florida PTA State Office/Headquarters

Office hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday (Eastern)

State Office Staff

Please contact the Florida PTA office staff directly with any questions or concerns you may have. The email addresses and extensions are listed below.

Jean Hovey Office Manager

x 301 office.manager@floridapta.org

Susan Kocarek Communications Coordinator X 302 communication@floridapta.org

TBD

Bookkeeper

x 303 accounting@floridapta.org

Heather Tysco Membership Coordinator x 304 Membership.Data@floridapta.org

Officers / Membership Updates / GiveBacks

Kimberly Adamski Compliance Coordinator x 305 Compliance@floridapta.org

IRS / Bylaws / Audits / 501(c)(3)

General Information info@floridapta.org

NOTE:

There may be times when we are assisting other PTA members, or working on a project and your call may be directed to voice mail.

Please leave a detailed message; your call or your request will be handled promptly.

Information and Services Available from the State PTA Office

Annual Kit of Materials Information to Assist Chairs **Bylaws Assistance** Audit/Tax/990 Assistance eNewsletter Leadership Convention Program Resources Legislation Information/Alerts Honorary Life Membership Awards Membership / Program Awards Memorial Bricks & President's Award of Honor **Reflections Information** Scholarship Program for Students Website Support Services from State Board and Local Unit Historical Information

Conferences & Conventions

Legislative Activities Spring, 2025 Tallahassee

> National PTA Convention June 2025

Leadership Convention July 10 – 14, 2025 July 30 – August 2, 2026

Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 – Section 7 - State Office Page 2 of 7 – www.FloridaPTA.org



Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 – Section 7 - State Office Page 3 of 7 – www.FloridaPTA.org

Important Deadlines

Membership Dues Paid MONTHLY as collected Final Deadline for award purposes: May 1

Bylaws

Updated within 3 years of last approval date and sent to state office for Stamped Approval

Audit/Financial Review Each year – August 31

Golden Early Bird Award October 1

Silver Early Bird Award November 1

IRS 990-N, 990EZ, 990 November 15

Bronze Early Bird Award December 1

Reflections January 1 (Check website for County deadlines)

Scholarships Check Website

National PTA Phoebe Apperson Hearst Award - <u>www.pta.org</u>

Proposed Resolution Items Check website for latest information <u>www.FloridaPTA.org</u>

Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 – Section 7 - State Office Page 4 of 7 – www.FloridaPTA.org

Shop our online Florida PTA store!!!

www.ShopPTA.com

Click on Florida PTA

Check it out!!!



Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 – Section 7 - State Office Page 5 of 7 – www.FloridaPTA.org

FLORIDA PTA PRESIDENTS



1921-22 * Mrs. James A. Craig, Jacksonville, Acting 1922-24 * Mrs. F. E. Godfrey, Orlando 1924-25 * Mrs. L. M. Anderson, Tampa 1925-26 * Mrs. Mary Leary, Deland 1926-30 * Mrs. A. F. Fanger, Jacksonville, Hialeah 1926-33 * Mrs. Mary W. Blocker, Jacksonville FSCPT 1930-32 * Mrs. H. B. Hutchinson, Tampa 1932-33 * Mrs. Howard Selby, West Palm Beach 1933-34 * Mrs. Malcolm McClellan, Jacksonville 1933-40 * Mrs. Bessie Baker, Jacksonville FSCPT 1934-35 * Mrs. Sumner W. Covey, Daytona Beach 1935-38 * Mrs. Clinton F. Parvin, Manatee 1938-40 * Mrs. Malcolm McClellan, Jacksonville 1940-43 * Mrs. L. H. Gibbs, Orlando 1940-46 * Mrs. Sadye E. Pryor, Pensacola FSCPT 1943-46 * Mrs. Walter H. Beckham. Miami 1946-49 * Mrs. Charles Pearson, Tampa 1946-50 * Mrs. Mayme Williams, Miami FSCPT (NCCPT President 1953-57) 1949-52 * Mrs. Edith McBride Cameron, Gainesville 1950-54 * Mrs. Elizabeth Espy, Miami FSCPT 1952-55 * Mrs. Elizabeth Clyde Johnson, Pensacola 1954-58 * Mrs. Dorcas Sanders, St. Augustine FSCPT 1955-58 * Mrs. Mvron R. Blee, Tallahassee 1958-60 * Mrs. W. L. Mussett, Miami 1958-62 * Mrs. C. W. Johnson, Tampa 1960-62 * Walter K. Harper, Jacksonville, FSCPT 1962-64 * Mrs. Howard M. Weenick, St. Petersburg 1962-66 * Arnett Osgood, Jr., Palatka FSCPT 1964-66 * Mrs. Nathan S. Rubin. Pensacola 1966-68 * Mrs. G. L. Barnard, Prescott, Arizona 1966-68 * Mrs. Willie Ziegler White, Tallahassee FSCPT 1968-70 * Mrs. Wayne Bevis, Tampa 1970-72 * Mrs. J. H. Johansen, Miami 1970-74 * Mrs. Robert Blackburn, Jacksonville 1974-76 * Mrs. Troy A. Chapin, Jr., Tampa 1976-78 * Mrs. E. Clayton Register, Jr., Clearwater 1978-80 * Mrs. Pete House, Jacksonville 1980-82 * Mrs. Perry O. Keene, Jr., Tampa 1982-84 * Mrs. James E. Bounds (Lynne), Orlando 1984-86 * Mrs. Edward Okasako (Marge), Hialeah 1986-88 * Mrs. Richard DiGiandomenico (Joanne), Jacksonville 1988-90 * Mrs. Lawson E. (Eugenia) Thomas, Miami

Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 - Section 7 - State Office Page 6 of 7 - www.FloridaPTA.org

FLORIDA PTA PRESIDENTS

1990-92 *	Mrs. Dan Laymon (Edwina), Ft. Myers
1992-94	Mrs. Kay Luzier, Port Orange
1994-96	Mrs. Anne Thompson, Miami
1996-98	Mrs. Sandy Traeger, Winter Springs
1998-00	Mrs. Latha Krishnaiyer, Coral Springs
2000-02	Mrs. Patty Hightower, Pensacola
2002-04	Mrs. Pat Lancaster, Inverness
2004-06	Mrs. Nancy Cox, Longwood
2006-08	Mrs. Lenelle Cruse, Jacksonville
2008-10	Mrs. Karin Brown, Miami
2010-12	Ms. Jean Hovey, Winter Springs
2012-12	Mr. Charles Derexson, Pinellas Park
2012-14	Ms. Eileen Segal, N. Miami Beach
2014-16	Ms. Mindy Haas, Boca Raton
2016-18	Ms. Cindy Gerhardt, Pensacola
2018-20	Ms. Linda Kearschner, Safety Harbor
2020-22	Ms. Jennifer "Jen" Martinez, Lake Worth
2022-24	Ms. Carolyn Nelson-Goedert, Miami Lakes
2024-26	Ms. Maxine Ann-Marie Lewers, Ft. Lauderdale

* Deceased

Celebrating over 101+ Years of Advocacy!!! Officially Chartered by National PTA April 14, 1923

Florida PTA Kit of Materials 2024-2025 - Section 7 - State Office Page 7 of 7 - www.FloridaPTA.org